UKIP not standing in three South Yorkshire constituencies

UKIP are set to not run in three South Yorkshire seats where they finished in the top three in the 2015 General Election.

The party were runners up to Labour in Doncaster Central, and Wentworth and Dearne. In Don Valley they came third behind Labour and the Conservatives.

Doncaster Central’s Rosie Winterton had a 10,000 majority over the UKIP candidate at the last election. Meanwhile in Wentworth and Dearne, John Healey had a similar majority over UKIP MEP Mike Hookem.

All three parliamentarians, including Don Valley’s Caroline Flint may be concerned about the effect of UKIP not standing may have on the vote for the Conservative Party.

South Yorkshire overwhelmingly voted to leave the European Union in the 2016 referendum.

Former Doncaster mayoral candidates Eddie Todd (Independent) and Chris Whitwood (Yorkshire Party) will also run in Doncaster Central.

Both lost to Labour’s Ros Jones in the election last Thursday.

Stephanie Peacock has had her candidacy confirmed for the Barnsley East as she seeks to replace Michael Dugher as MP for the area.

Peacock was unsuccessful in the Halesowen and Rowley Regis constituency in 2015, as she failed to overturn a narrow Conservative majority.

Former UKIP Police and Crime Commissioner candidate Gavin Felton will stand against incumbent Dan Jarvis in Barnsley Central. Both have previously served in the British Army.

The ‘Statement of Persons Nominated’ list has not currently been released for Sheffield. Natalie Bennett has confirmed she is standing in Sheffield Central and is launching her campaign tomorrow.

The election will take place on Thursday 8 June.